Chances of transfer from tier 3 to high tier 2 lower teir 1

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
CP2323

Chances of transfer from tier 3 to high tier 2 lower teir 1

Postby CP2323 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:03 pm

So I am pretty set that I will attend Akron (full ride due to Post 9/11 Bill covering the expense)

I have a 157 on the LSAT (no prep at all and 1 attempt)
I have a 2.33 UGPA due to messing around as a first year college student 1.5 GPA from my first year and then CLEP and DANTES tests for a lot of my Psychology degree requirements.
I have a Master's Degree in Social Studies Education with a 3.85 GPA.
I was in the United States Navy for 7 years and am a disabled veteran (50%) with an honorable discharge.
I have a ton of community service since I ran my command's community service program and we won Navy wide awards for our work 2 years in a row. (I personally was awarded a Navy Achievement Medal for my work).

I was wondering if I finish in the top of my class at Akron for the first year how likely can I transfer to a local tier 1 or tier 2 school. For example Ohio State or Case Western (with Scholarship money).

dakatz

Re: Chances of transfer from tier 3 to high tier 2 lower teir 1

Postby dakatz » Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:08 pm

Sure, if you finish top of your class, there is probably some local school that will take you. But DO NOT assume that you will indeed finish top of your class. If you are going to Akron with the intention of transferring (under the implicit assumption that you will be top of your class), you need to reconsider it. Law school is too variable and there is too much uncertainty with regard to grades to make anything even close to a sure bet. Don't go to Akron unless you would be happy graduating from Akron.

CP2323

Postby CP2323 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:18 pm