Columbia Law School

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Godfather

Columbia Law School

Postby Godfather » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:23 pm

Hey everyone, I am a junior at a public college in NYC pursuing a Finance degree with an English major and I am doing this in 3 years instead of 4 (so I am in my second year at school, will graduate spring 2012). What are my chances at getting into columbia Early Action with a 172 lsat and lsac 3.59 gpa (I kno it's low but I had my first death in the family of my close uncle and it was pretty much a family crisis which happened the may of my first year in school and affected my spring 2010 gpa and fall 2010 and caused me to get a C in my second level bio class which brought my cum. gpa down significantly). I am heavily involved in political campaigns and such though and have worked at law and finance firms. I can get nice LOR and such. What are my chances of getting into Columbia with these stats? What about NYU, Cornell, Penn, or other T-14s? I mainly want Columbia just because I dreamed of this.

So basically 3.59 gpa/172 lsat. Chances at cls, nyu, cornell, penn, and other T-14. I will apply to all T-14s.

bdubs

Re: Columbia Law School

Postby bdubs » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:34 pm

Bring your GPA up as much as possible. You have a shot at CLS ED, but it's not great with a 3.59. If you could get your GPA up to 3.71 or retake and increase your LSAT to above 174, you would stand a much much better chance of getting in (those would get you a 4.3+ index which greatly increases your chances at CLS).

NYU - Decent shot
Cornell - In
Penn - Probably in, but they are picky

Out at HYS, in at most places other than Chicago (it's possible too, similar to NYU).

Godfather

Postby Godfather » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:50 pm