3.35/175 Chances? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Soilus

New

3.35/175 Chances?

Post by Soilus » Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:50 pm

Hi everyone,

I graduated from Dartmouth in June 2010 with a 3.35 as an Econ major. I've been studying for the LSAT and I've taken three practice tests under lab settings (administered by professional test prep people) with the following scores: 176, 177, 176. I know that people always test worse when it counts - call my score a 175.

My 3.35, unfortunatley, means that there are C's on my transcript. Since graduating I've been working at a top management consulting firm, working on both strategy projects and private equity deals (I mention this to indicate that I have "serious" work experience - 80 hours a week, top firm, etc). I have two solid professor recs, but both are from non-econ professors (my bad grades were in econ - the story of my invovlement in the econ major is like the story of America in Vietnam: a quagmire I should never have gotten into).

I plan on applying for either 2012 or 2013 intake, meaning that by the time I apply, I'll have 2-3 years of solid work experience. My bosses love me and I'm doing really well at work, so I think I can count on a couple of good recommendations from partners at my firm. I don't know if that matters at all but I figure it can't hurt.

What are my chances at a T14 school? I realize that my chances at HYS are pretty nil. What about Columbia, UChicago, NYU, Berkeley, UPenn, UMich, and Northwestern? I obviously want to go to the best law school I can get into. Can someone tell me what my chances are?

Thanks

pballer

Bronze

Re: 3.35/175 Chances?

Post by pballer » Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:04 pm

In before the "come back with a real score".

Soilus

New

Post by Soilus » Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:09 pm