From Engineering to Law School

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
knicks11

From Engineering to Law School

Postby knicks11 » Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:19 pm

I'm currently an engineering student that wants to go to law school for IP Law. Do school's generally give engineering students a boost in their gpa's vs other majors? I am a senior with a 3.5 in Electrical Engineering from a non-ivy league school and will be taking the LSAT for the first time in October 2011 for the following Fall 's admissions. Thanks

fundamentallybroken

Re: From Engineering to Law School

Postby fundamentallybroken » Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:26 pm

knicks11 wrote:I'm currently an engineering student that wants to go to law school for IP Law. Do school's generally give engineering students a boost in their gpa's vs other majors? I am a senior with a 3.5 in Electrical Engineering from a non-ivy league school and will be taking the LSAT for the first time in October 2011 for the following Fall 's admissions. Thanks

Just curious, why would you think engineering students would get some sort of advantage in gpa analysis?

But to answer, while your major may come down to being a tie-breaker in some cases, it is typically only the number they look at. Engineering 3.5 = Poetry 3.5. Sorry.

(Disclaimer: Unless you start talking about t10 or t14, then you might get something. But I still doubt it.)

knicks11

Postby knicks11 » Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:41 pm

The reason I thought this is because I heard conflicting responses from people saying that engineering students generally get boosted up because it's much harder to get a 3.5/4.0 in engineering than in majors such as poetry and art. A 3.5 engineering gpa in my school is probably top 20% while say a person majoring in art with a 3.5 might be in the median of their class.

czelede

Postby czelede » Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:42 pm

fundamentallybroken wrote: