3.58 GPA/179 LSAT Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Jolena

New

3.58 GPA/179 LSAT

Post by Jolena » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:38 am

Hi guys,
First time poster, somewhat-long time lurker. I have a low-to-average UGPA from UCLA but am very happy and incredibly relieved with my LSATs. I graduated in 2008 and have been working mostly at a desk job but nothing unique or mind-blowing. I did spend 5 months working in orphanages in Romania, but overall my "softs" aren't that impressive. Non-URM, female.

I have no delusions about HYS, but I would like to see what you guys think of my chances at one of the CCNs or the other T14. I would much rather not apply ED since I don't want to miss out on any potential scholarships, but with my GPA, will I even get any? For law school, my dream-reach is Columbia. What about GULC? I have a soft spot for GULC and a love of DC. I'm guessing my GPA is too low for Boalt, since I know they place less emphasis on the LSATs (shame since I live an hour from San Francisco). Also, with employment so bad, I can't expect it to be much better 4 or 5 years from now. How much different are job prospects between, say--a graduate of NYU and a graduate of GULC?

I'm planning on working for another year at least before applying, so it's not anytime soon. I'm just curious where I stand and if there's anything I can do short of joining the Peacecorps or the army to improve my chances at a good school.

Thanks for the help everyone.

Curry

Re: 3.58 GPA/179 LSAT

Post by Curry » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:40 am

In from CCN on down. I would apply to HYS. You have an outside shot.

Moxie

Silver

Post by Moxie » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:54 am

Curry wrote:In from CCN on down. I would apply to HYS. You have an outside shot.