UT Austin or bust! Experienced splitter in need of some hope

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
yam

UT Austin or bust! Experienced splitter in need of some hope

Postby yam » Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:18 am

I'm an experienced engineer (10+ years in semiconductors) with a technical masters degree and a business masters degree. I have been continuously employed in high tech throughout the various downturns of the last decade.

Having pretty much topped out my technical career prospects in my mid-thirties, I'm now thinking about going into law. I've taken a couple of practice LSATs and scored 170 on both of them. I think I could add a couple points with prep work. My undergrad GPA (engineering) is 2.7 and my graduate GPA is 3.6. Each of my degrees is from a well respected university.

I live in the Austin TX area. I've reviewed the admissions scatterplots and see that I could get into any of the other schools in Texas, but I need to remain in Austin. Moving and/or commuting to SMU, Baylor,or Houston is not an option for me.

I'm considering working as a patent agent for a year or two to get some experience in intellectual property and also hopefully improve my admission chances. However once I step off the engineering track into patent agent work it would be difficult to switch back.

Please comment on my chances of getting into UT Austin? Are my LSAT and soft qualifications enough to overcome my low undergrad gpa from nearly twenty years ago?

skers

Re: UT Austin or bust! Experienced splitter in need of some hope

Postby skers » Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:23 am

Come back when you have a real score.

JazzOne

Postby JazzOne » Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:25 am

yam wrote:I'm an experienced engineer (10+ years in semiconductors) with a technical masters degree and a business masters degree. I have been continuously employed in high tech throughout the various downturns of the last decade.