2.81 GPA - 161ish LSAT

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
GP305

2.81 GPA - 161ish LSAT

Postby GP305 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:01 am

Hey everyone. So this is my first time post and needless to say, I am terrified to put this up because of the reactions I feel I will get. But I grew some thick skin and just figured I'd take criticism if I get it.

I am applying to Law School for the Fall 2011 term. My current situation go as follows, I had a 2.81 GPA. While an undergrad I worked full time at a night club as a bartender for my last two years and managed a clinics billing online for my first two. Furthermore, I had four good internships doing college. I double majored in International Business and Economics-Finance, minored in Pre-Law. On my little free time, I was actively involved in a fraternity, varsity athletics, and regularly involved with community service. I feel as though my resume and involvement will someone explain my low GPA seeing as I was stretched very thin.Now, I took the LSAT in Dec. 2008 valiantly and stupidly with the flu... I got a 151 and had to go get an IV at the hospital after (I thought I could be the Jordan of the LSAT). With the renewed motivation to apply to law school, I prepped the last month or so while working and am at a 160-163 range. So yeah, I won't be applying to any schools that average, only the ones that take the highest score. Nonetheless, I am submitting a strong addendum explaining my 12/08 LSAT with hospital documentation.

I thought that as a first generation American from a Peruvian family I could claim URM, but with everything that I have read, apparently not. So my remaining question is what Tier 1 schools I could be looked at favorablly in. Currently these are the schools I am considering:

Safety:Loyola-NO, Marquette, Samford, FIU, Syracuse,
Competitive:American, FSU, Miami, Loyola-Chicago, Wisconsin, SMU, Tennessee