3.2 LSDAS / 164 LSAT Tier 1? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Alek

New

3.2 LSDAS / 164 LSAT Tier 1?

Post by Alek » Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:07 pm

Hi, I have done some research but I still have some questions. I'd appreciate any advice.

I'm a resident of Ohio, my LSDAS will be upwards of 3.2. Unfortunately for this figure, my university is on a four point scale. Similarly the "upward trend" of my GPA from C+ Freshman year average to A- Junior year average isn't remarkable and lacks a good excuse. I think mentioning it would lead to questions about why I switched majors after that crushing first year (I am currently a PoliSci major). I'll have to look into other sections of this site to see how to tackle that in my personal statement.

I did a few practice LSATs and earned a 164 on the real deal. I feel that even if I were to score 169 in a retaken test my low GPA and practical absence of "soft factors" will still be a blemish. At this point I am considering seeking other graduate options given that I am not inspired to practice law. Law seems like a field I have the skill set for, however if I'm not going to use the specialized knowledge, or plan on needing it, why go? I am anxious my personal statement will be weak.

After a few days research I've compiled this list of schools. I tried to avoid expensive out-of-state private schools and emphasize regional career opportunities. I have little debt currently, but tuition is relevant.

Safety
Michigan State
Cleveland State University
U. of Akron

On Par
Case Western
U. of Cincinnati
U. of Connectut
Wake Forest
American (DC)

Reach
The Ohio State University
U. of Minnesota
U. of Wisconsin

Have I assigned these schools to the right categories? Have I aimed too high? Are there schools missing I might be interested in?

Thanks!