Internship pros and cons

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
MAHamlin

Internship pros and cons

Postby MAHamlin » Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:18 am

Good morning all! I've recently been given the opportunity to intern for the Indiana State House of Representatives during the 2011 session. It's a fairly competitive internship and seems universally perceived as a fairly high quality internship with excellent experience opportunities. I was told by several I questioned that I would not simply be relegated to the status of file stuffer and paper copier.

So what's the downside? Well, I'm 28 with a wife, daughter, and full-time job. Although the internship is paid, it pays well under half my current salary and is temporary in nature (Jan-Apr 2011). I currently work for the Section 8 program for Indianapolis, so I am involved in government as it is. I work as a member of what we call our "Task Force", which is primarily responsible for trouble shooting problem areas in our program and picking up the slack of departments that are falling behind. Although I had fully expected to quit working if I am accepted to law school, I had hoped to work throughout my undergraduate schooling in an effort to minimize student loans. I am currently wrapping up my Sophemore year so I still have, at a minimum, two years until I finish my undergraduates degree. I understand there is a possibility that I could make excellent contacts through the internship and find new employment after the fact, but my question is (after this long-winded wind-up): Is it worth it?

Would having this internship on my application to Law Schools increase my chances of acceptance over continuing my work experience with the Indianapolis Housing Agency? I am hoping to be accepted into a T-14 school, with my eye specifically on Columbia or Chicago.