2.94/171, 1 year WE, good GPA addendum....

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
chrisbru

2.94/171, 1 year WE, good GPA addendum....

Postby chrisbru » Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:27 pm

Hey TSL! Just wondering what you guys think. I'm curious about both admission and $$$.

I received a finance degree from Iowa State in May 2010. I currently work as a financial analyst for a Fortune 50 aerospace company, and will have a little over a year of experience (full-time post graduation) when I start school, as well as an additional one year of full-time co-op/summer internship experience. My numbers are:
LSAC GPA: 2.94 (2.97 degree GPA)
LSAT: 171, October 2010, one-time taker

GPA addendum: Long story short (I'll save you reading the whole thing) my mom did hospital time, radiation, chemo, etc. for my 4th, 5th, and 6th semesters. I spent a lot of time going back home to help with my little bro and dad, and visiting her in the hospital. If I threw out those semesters, I would have ended up with a 3.3 gpa.

I've applied to:
Iowa
Minnesota
Illinois
WUSTL
St. Thomas (MN)
William Mitchell
DePaul
Drake

What are my chances at admission and scholarship $$ at these schools? Anyone have any other suggestions for applications? I want to go to school in the midwest (preferably within 6 hours of Des Moines, where my family lives) and will end up practicing there. I'm NOT super stoked on the Chicago area, but I know it's the best market in the midwest.

On that note, any way I could get into Northwestern?

Thanks for your input TLS!

FuManChusco

Re: 2.94/171, 1 year WE, good GPA addendum....

Postby FuManChusco » Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:59 pm

Numbers are good for all the schools you listed. Probably wouldn't even need a gpa addendum with that LSAT. Midwest loves splitters. NU is a longshot with only 1 year of WE. You could try ED. You'd probably have a good shot there with those numbers in a year.

chrisbru