PhD/3.5/159 - Illinois still on the table?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
BlueArtemis8

PhD/3.5/159 - Illinois still on the table?

Postby BlueArtemis8 » Mon Nov 01, 2010 1:48 pm

I have a PhD in a social science field from a top public university, 3.5 undergrad GPA from another top public university with 4.0's my last 2 years in undergrad, but got a 159 on my LSAT (stomach flu may have cost me the mid-160's I was getting on PTs). I also have professional full-time work experience outside of law. Any thoughts on my chances at UIUC?

vsl89

Re: PhD/3.5/159 - Illinois still on the table?

Postby vsl89 » Mon Nov 01, 2010 1:51 pm

If you can get a PhD, you can get a 170. Retake the LSAT.
As for Illinois, it looks very unlikely: http://illinois.lawschoolnumbers.com/ap ... ,8&type=jd

TCScrutinizer

Postby TCScrutinizer » Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:14 pm

vsl89 wrote:If you can get a PhD, you can get a 170.

BlueArtemis8 wrote:PhD in a social science field

Retake. You have a narrow, narrow outside shot at best, and that's if you applied ED a month ago.

BlueArtemis8

Postby BlueArtemis8 » Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:24 pm

TCScrutinizer wrote:
vsl89 wrote:If you can get a PhD, you can get a 170.

BlueArtemis8 wrote:PhD in a social science field

Retake. You have a narrow, narrow outside shot at best, and that's if you applied ED a month ago.

I did apply ED, but it's still sounding like I should plan on retaking the LSAT. Any consensus on the best prep class? I studied on my own last time, and that was probably a mistake.

mhernton

Postby mhernton » Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:34 pm