IVY league failure then Graduate comeback

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
taxman914

IVY league failure then Graduate comeback

Postby taxman914 » Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:11 pm

Here is my situation:

I attended a top 5 ivy league university, but graduated with a 2.1 GPA (sociology major). Shortly after, I completed a second bachelors in business admin at a mediocre state school while working at the same time. Due to some grades having to be carried over from my first school, my overall GPA for my 2nd bachelors was a meager 2.7. Then I completed a masters in accountancy (accounting information systems) at the same state school with a GPA of 3.75. I finally attended USC's masters in business taxation program (top 5 graduate accounting program) and graduated with a 3.8. I also have strong letters of recommendation from USC. This all happened over a span of 12 years.

I have social services and accounting related work experience, but nothing extraordinarily impressive. I have recently taken my LSATs and scored a 176. I want to go into tax law, but feel my failures as an undergrad 10 years ago won't be overlooked by the admissions committees at a top 10 law school. I know that admissions can be really random and even deviants such as me do get accepted. However, realistically, what is everyone's opinion on my chances of getting into a top 10 law school? Thanks ahead of time for everyone's input!

vanwinkle

Re: IVY league failure then Graduate comeback

Postby vanwinkle » Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:12 pm

ED to Northwestern immediately. It's your only shot at T14.

Postby 09042014 » Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:23 pm

vanwinkle wrote:ED to Northwestern immediately. It's your only shot at T14.