165, 3.0UGPA + Israeli Combat Unit & News Anchor....

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
rostovru

165, 3.0UGPA + Israeli Combat Unit & News Anchor....

Postby rostovru » Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:36 am

I graduated from Southern Cal five years ago. Since then, I've served in an IDF combat unit, worked as a news anchor on Israeli TV, and reported for Fox in the States. My biggest story was the Second Gaza War, and I became known for catching liars with their own words.

I've also volunteered in SE Asia.

My obstacle rises from a low UGPA.

My LSAT is presentable, although obviously not Ivy League worthy.

I'm shooting for a strong program in International Law on either coast, although I prefer NYC.

Oh, did I mention I'm gay?

What are my options? How will my UGPA play into admissions decision-making five years later?

bk1

Re: 165, 3.0UGPA + Israeli Combat Unit & News Anchor....

Postby bk1 » Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:47 am

Retake the LSAT.

HeavenWood

Postby HeavenWood » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:44 am

rostovru wrote:I graduated from Southern Cal five years ago. Since then, I've served in an IDF combat unit, worked as a news anchor on Israeli TV, and reported for Fox in the States. My biggest story was the Second Gaza War, and I became known for catching liars with their own words.

I'm shooting for a strong program in International Law on either coast, although I prefer NYC.

What are my options? How will my UGPA play into admissions decision-making five years later?

Excellent softs. Hopefully a close-minded adcom won't write you off for serving in the IDF and reporting for Fox. Still, you should probably retake the LSAT. a 3.0 will be tough to overcome without a higher score.

rostovru

Postby rostovru » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:54 am

HeavenWood wrote: