3.91 / 162 Veteran plus some other softs

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
br79

3.91 / 162 Veteran plus some other softs

Postby br79 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:38 pm

I have a 3.91 GPA and 162 LSAT (can't retake because I don't think I would do much better).

I am a 31 year old white male living in PA. I served four years active duty Army directly after high school from 97-01 and then worked another 8 years as an I.T. professional. Been a stay at home father of two for the last year and a half. I am also a first generation college student. Started undergraduate BA in Business Administration in 2006 and will graduate May 2011. Two decent LORs and a strong personal statement.

The LSP says these places are at least "consider", LSN not quite as optimistic. What do you think? Thanks for your opinions.

U of Texas
Northwestern
Vanderbilt
George Washington
U of Illinois
U of Indiana
Wake Forest
George Mason
Maryland
Richmond

deadhipsters

Re: 3.91 / 162 Veteran plus some other softs

Postby deadhipsters » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:40 pm

Add William and Mary and Washington and Lee to the list as reaches. Both are military friendly.

br79

Postby br79 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:57 pm

I actually applied to Washington and Lee today, and was looking at William and Mary. Thanks for the suggestion.

DevDoc82

Postby DevDoc82 » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:07 pm

I do not know how you feel about this, but BYU has a great law school and gives preference to veterans because of the appreciation they hold for your service. The school boast the best bargain for law school as the tuition rates are really low. About your other choices, in the past University of Texas-Austin loves military applicant.

ARTfulDodger

Postby ARTfulDodger » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:17 pm