Do you also notice how LSAT sensitive USC is?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
JD=Doctor

Do you also notice how LSAT sensitive USC is?

Postby JD=Doctor » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:50 pm

I was looking at LSnumbers and if you got to the 167 mark you had a phenomenal shot at getting it
if you has a 166 your shot of getting in dropped by 85% unless your GPA was 3.9+

Talk about a school that loves trying to raise its medians...

jamiLAW

Re: Do you also notice how LSAT sensitive USC is?

Postby jamiLAW » Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:34 pm

Yeah, it is a weird idea, but then again, I've never heard of a law school NOT concerned with its numbers.

I'm no expert, but it seems like those predictors don't tell the whole story; I was just talking to someone from Michigan who got a 158 on his LSAT. Admissions obviously puts a huge weight on numbers, but if your LORs/resume/PS didn't matter they wouldn't waste their time reading them.

bdubs

Postby bdubs » Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:13 am

Nightrunner wrote:
jamiLAW wrote: I was just talking to someone from Michigan who got a 158 on his LSAT.

That's how medians work. For every 2.95/173 kid, they need to consider a 3.97/159 kid.

That is generally not true, since the distribution of grades is not the same as the distribution of LSAT scores. The distribution of LSAT scores is close to normal, whereas GPAs tends to be closer to log normal (skewed toward the high end of the scale). Additionally, LSAT and GPA probably show some fairly significant degree of correlation.

Bottom line, there are lots of people who are just below the LSAT threshold with acceptable GPAs so your chances don't scale accordingly as you move down the LSAT ladder.

r6_philly

Postby r6_philly » Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:04 am

bdubs wrote:
Nightrunner wrote:
jamiLAW wrote: I was just talking to someone from Michigan who got a 158 on his LSAT.