Undergraduate Student applying to law school in 2 years

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
ThundercatsRinnocent

Undergraduate Student applying to law school in 2 years

Postby ThundercatsRinnocent » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:02 am

Hello everyone, this is my first post here and I was hoping you could give me useful insight.
I'm an undergraduate student currently going to a community college in New Jersey. I came here (CC) because I was misinformed about college out of high school and attended an expensive liberal arts school in NY because my SAT scores (1900/2400) were above average but not good enough to get me into a Top 50 School. So anyway, $25,000 in loans later, I'm at community college.

Because my family is poor, I'm planning to transfer to UNC-Chapel Hill, a reputable school known for its generous financial aid (and also a school I would not have been admitted to as a HS senior). It also happens to have excellent English and History programs (I'm planning to double major in both when I transfer)

Anyway, sorry for the autobiography.

My GPA at my first school was a 3.6
My GPA at community college is a 3.9

Assuming I transfer to UNC, if I keep a 3.8+ GPA there and take the LSAT during the summer of 2012, what kind of LSAT score would I need to have a chance of getting accepted into a T14 school?

I'm a legitimate ethnic minority (100% Puerto Rican) and hopefully I'll have decent soft factors by the time I apply. I'm also planning to do work study when I transfer so that I have some invaluable work experience to put on my applications.

Would the community college GPA be a concern? Because as I understand it, the top law schools prefer that their students spent 4 years at a prestigious undergraduate institution..right?