No uGPA/170(+) LSAT/Philosophy Ph.D.

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
PolPhilPhD

No uGPA/170(+) LSAT/Philosophy Ph.D.

Postby PolPhilPhD » Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:14 pm

Hi-

I'm an advanced graduate student in philosophy, specializing in political philosophy at a quality school (not T10 generally in philosophy, but good general 'brand' + very good in political). I have no grades for either undergraduate or graduate school - neither my undergraduate alma mater nor my Ph.D. program gives them (narrative evaluations in both cases instead - mine are very good, so far as I can tell). I took the LSAT a long time ago (2003), and did all right - a 170. I suppose I'd have to retake it; I think I'd probably do better now.

I've seen some threads on the value of the Ph.D. - that sounds like a pretty good plus. But I'm not sure how the lack of GPA will play.

Law school for me would be another route into the academy (and in particular, a way to delay looking for academic work until the economy improves). So I'd only really be interested in schools commensurate with that goal (Yale? Chicago? Stanford? NYU?). Any thoughts on whether that's realistic?

dissonance1848

Re: No uGPA/170(+) LSAT/Philosophy Ph.D.

Postby dissonance1848 » Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:21 pm

Get high 170s, and CLS, UofC and HYS should be possible. But you need a high LSAT, because without the GPA they are going to wonder a little. But yeah, I should think it is doable.

PolPhilPhD

Postby PolPhilPhD » Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:30 pm

Thanks. Browsing a bit today, I noticed that some top law schools, including Yale, don't themselves give out grades. I wonder if that would affect their attitude here?

flyingpanda

Postby flyingpanda » Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:07 pm