LLM and chances

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!

LLM & chances

1) Do USC LLM
50%
2) Apply and do Harvard LLM, if accepted
25%
3) Stick to JD, screw LLM
25%
4) LLM will help to get to HYS JD
No votes
5) HLS LLM will hurt chances to get to HLS JD
No votes

Total votes: 4

Lisa_I

LLM and chances

Postby Lisa_I » Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:51 pm

I was wondering if LLM program will hurt or help my chances.

I am a foreign-educated lawyer (with foreign JD and Phd in Law), love law. I applied for LLM and got in to good school (USC), it was the only school I applied. They even gave me a scholarship (10k for tuition) (deferred)
Since I moved here for life I thought that I can as well get my JD.
I am working on LSAT, due to some issues I will be applying only next fall. The target is top-10 schools.
On the Harvard LLM site I saw that they give good scholarships for LLMs.

So finally a question :roll:
Shell I do the LLM at USC or go for Harvard's LLM?
If say I'll apply to Harvard LLM and get decent scholarship for year 2011-2012 and then with LSAT will be applying for HYS in fall 2011, will this LLM help or hurt the changes to get there?

I consider the academic career in the future after some years of practice.

Danteshek

Re: LLM and chances

Postby Danteshek » Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:00 pm

Some LLM programs allow students to apply to transfer to the JD after the LLM. It makes more sense to go to one of those schools if you anticipate getting a JD. If you go that route you can avoid taking the LSAT.

2ofspades

Postby 2ofspades » Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:15 pm

Lisa_I wrote:I applied for LLM and got in to good school (USC), it was the only school I applied. They even gave me a scholarship (10k for tuition) (deferred)

Have you checked the terms of the offer you accepted at USC? JD deferrals, at least, are usually binding, though perhaps LLM deferrals are not.