What are my chances/Where to apply?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
schand

What are my chances/Where to apply?

Postby schand » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:31 pm

Ok, so going to law school has been one of my goals. Here's the skinny. I didn't do so hot on my lsats (I studied adequately, but just couldn't cut it), and a decent gpa from a state school (155/3.6). I want to go to a tier 1 law school... at least one that is in the NJ/NY/CT/PA area. I have what some would say amazing softs. I worked for my Governor straight out of college (as a matter of fact, began working before I graduated), played a huge role on his campaign, helped grow a nonprofit organization targeted towards South Asian/Middle eastern women, among other things. I know I have great recommendations. I'm extremely proactive, but want to use law to make greater impacts. What schools are most receptive of these characteristics? What schools do you think are a good fit and may accept me? I am absolutely bent on going to law school, so if it means going to a tier 3/4, so be it! I'm going to change the world, dammit.

Thank you in advance for your responses :)

schand

Re: What are my chances/Where to apply?

Postby schand » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:32 pm

Oh, I'm also starting an Americorps program in NYC this fall

beachbum

Postby beachbum » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:41 pm

If you're serious about going to law school and having the opportunity to change the world, then retake the LSAT. You have a decent GPA, good softs/work experience, and a terrible LSAT score. Taking the time now to study and retake will pay off for the rest of your life.

bk1

Postby bk1 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:43 pm

If a retake is possible, I highly recommend it as it can drastically alter the types of schools you could get into.