A shot at Fordham/Cardozo??? - UG GPA 2.5 Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
shoopoonk

New

A shot at Fordham/Cardozo??? - UG GPA 2.5

Post by shoopoonk » Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:04 pm

Hello all. This is my first time so go easy on me.

My undergrad GPA is crap, 2.5 @ 130 credits, while grad gpa is 3.9 @ 32 credits.

Does this factor into the selection process or law schools only look at undergrad gpa?

Also, do I have a shot at getting into Fordham/Cardozo part-time & night program with above GPA. I haven't taken LSAT yet but I don't want to waste time, effort, and money without even a slim chance. I did the LSAC calculation and it seems like my chances are pretty bad even with LSAT score of 170.

Lastly, do law schools consider work experience? I been working for close to 10 years with pretty good companies as a tax accountant/CPA.

Thanks in advance and any advice would be appreciated.

Columbia Law

Bronze

Re: A shot at Fordham/Cardozo??? - UG GPA 2.5

Post by Columbia Law » Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:08 pm

Sorry about your terrible GPA. Fordham is probably out the window. I know a few people with 3.9/165 who were waitlisted/withdrew for the part time program. Tough program to get in these days.

lawschool2014

New

Post by lawschool2014 » Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:09 pm

Maybe Cardozo would make you pay sticker if you get a 170. However, your chances with $$$ at a non toilet law school are fairly slim. Fordham is unlikely, but maybe they will allow you into their part time program with a 170+ Lsat.

You will have a shot at adequate schools (ranked 30-55) with a score of 169 or better, so you better study.

Good luck. Its totally possible, but you must do a cost benefit analysis before shelling out over 150k for a non t14

Platinum

Post by 2014 » Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:13 pm