3.0 GPA + "F" + 179 LSAT + Columbia Undergrad -- chances?! Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
harvardguy2015

New

3.0 GPA + "F" + 179 LSAT + Columbia Undergrad -- chances?!

Post by harvardguy2015 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:03 am

hey guys i'm a senior at columbia undergrad majoring in computer science (ignore my username). i partied a lot freshman year and landed an "F" a "W" as well as Academic Probation. My freshman GPA was around a 1.0. Ever since I got the GPA up to a 3.1 by getting pretty much all A's in a tough science major. I also got a 179 on the LSAT the first time.

Do I have chances at ANY T-14? I'm in love with NYC and would LOVE to be at Columbia for law school - do I have any ED chances? Anyone know about how much CLS admits from their own undergrad?

thanks! i really have no idea if i should even apply to law school in this case. I not a URM.

taxguy

Bronze

Re: 3.0 GPA + "F" + 179 LSAT + Columbia Undergrad -- chances?!

Post by taxguy » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:12 am

Yes, I would bet that you are competitive for most of the T14 schools with the exceptions of HYS and Berkeley, who is very GPA oriented. Congrats on your 179 by the way. For the record, your 179 puts you in the top .2% of test takers. If you write a strong personal statement, you will actually have a good chance at most of these schools.

By the way, if you check out the Law school predictor site,http://www.lawschoolpredictor.com/wp-co ... ograms.htm

You will see that you even have some chance at Chicago and Columbia and be an admit for Cornell , Georgetown and UCLA and Duke. I think your personal statement should be very important here. You could outline why you didn't do well in your freshmen year and highlight what happened in upper-class years.