167/173 3.43; Where should I apply/What are my chances?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
soupisgood

167/173 3.43; Where should I apply/What are my chances?

Postby soupisgood » Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:34 pm

I graduated from a top 25 private undergrad in May, and now am taking 1-2 years off working outside the U.S. (if it's 2 years, I'd defer my admission a year). I'm technically an international student, if that matters at all. I want to work in NY for a few years, though eventually I think I'd like to return to California. As of now, I want to work in BigLaw, but I could see myself in academia in a couple decades, so I'd like to attend a T14, rather than a T1 school that gives $$$.

Where should I apply? Which schools give high LSAT-low GPA splitters some love? UPenn is my first choice from this list, but is EDing there a smart idea, given that I'm planning on writing a "Why UPenn" essay anyway? I'm pretty sure that CLS and NYU are out with my #'s, even with ED, and Michigan and Duke don't really appeal to me, but aside from that, my school list is looking pretty sad.

My list so far:
UPenn (probably ED?)
Cornell
UVA
Chicago

Any help would be much appreciated :)

kazu

Re: 167/173 3.43; Where should I apply/What are my chances?

Postby kazu » Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:03 pm

If I were you I'd apply to the whole T14 except for YHS. Splitters are always unpredictable, and you might be able to leverage scholarship offers from schools you're not keen on for more $$ at a school you do want to go to. Plus it's good to have more than 1 backup.

I would also think that with those numbers NYU is probably more likely than Chicago.

najumobi

Postby najumobi » Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:26 pm

unrealistic reach: yale, harvard, stanford, columbia
realistic reach: nyu, chicago, berkeley, uva, penn, duke, ucla
target: cornell, mich, texas, vandy, usc
strong target: northwestern, georgetown