Chances for Texas/Oklahoma schools Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
britjannor

New

Chances for Texas/Oklahoma schools

Post by britjannor » Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:57 pm

Hey, I'm new to the forums and still pretty new to this law school prep thing. It's a little late for me to be such a rookie since I graduate in May '11 and would like to have applications in for schools by November, if at all possible.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could give me a little insight. I've read through several other threads and looked at other resources, but I thought I'd try and get some insight from people who have already done this/are going through the same thing. Y'all probably have more knowledge than I do, so anything will help.

I'm graduating from a public liberal arts university, small school (D2) in Texas. I am a Texas resident as well.

Schools I plan to apply to (in order of preference)
SMU
Baylor
Texas Tech
University of Texas (low on the list and obviously not really an option with my credentials)
University of Oklahoma

My LSAT (June) is a 161, my GPA is a 3.75. Since my school does not do A+/A-, I assume that's also my LSAC GPA. English major/Mass Communication minor. 4.0 in both major and minor.

Some of my softs:
Editor in Chief of campus newspaper: All 4 years I've been a student
Honors College (4 years) graduate
Outstanding Junior Woman at university (highest honor chosen by faculty/administration for junior woman, campuswide)
Several creative writing awards
Dozens of collegiate journalism awards
Most of university tuition/fees paid by merit-only scholarships
Secretary of Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society (2 years)
1 summer work as a page designer at a local newspaper
1 year (and counting) freelance writer/photographer for local newspaper
Helped with local judicial campaigns last election cycle