My GPA is lower than yours Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
cccZillo

New

My GPA is lower than yours

Post by cccZillo » Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:42 pm

I have a 2.45 GPA and a 169 on the June LSAT. This is usually the part where people tell their heartbreaking story of why their GPA is so low, but the schools won’t care, so why should you.

I want to stay in Chicago, so naturally I’m looking at Kent, Loyola and DePaul. I’ve already taken the liberties of eliminating Northwestern and UC from any wishlists. I graduated in ’07 and have spent the last three years working as a journalist (which should explain the need for a career change).

I plan to retake in October, because I’m fairly confident I can hit 171-172. But that hypothetical aside, do I have a chance at those three schools with my current numbers, or am I bound for John Marshall?

(I’ve heard the law school predictors are less reliable for big splitters, so I brought the question here.)

Ty Webb

Silver

Re: My GPA is lower than yours

Post by Ty Webb » Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:50 pm

If you go anywhere below UI-UC with those numbers, you're selling yourself short.

Signed,
Guy with a GPA lower than yours

3ThrowAway99

Gold

Post by 3ThrowAway99 » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:00 pm

I would think that you'll be accepted to all three (Kent, Loyola, and DePaul) possibly with some scholarship offers. LSAT is more significant than GPA and you have a good one- way, way above median for any of those schools (although your GPA is considerably below median I'm sure). I agree with the other poster about not selling yourself short, though I'm sure the GPA will set some limitations so I agree that it is good to try and be realistic about what your options are. Can you write a good explanation addendum for your applications re: GPA? Your situation is one where I think it may definitely be called for.

Thirteen

Diamond