3.72/162 Mexican-American, UT undergrad graduate

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
pdrez

3.72/162 Mexican-American, UT undergrad graduate

Postby pdrez » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:33 pm

My dream is to go back home to University of Texas where I am from and where I graduated in 2006. I am 3/4 Mexican, 1/4 white if that info helps at all. 3.72 GPA, 162 LSAT (second time taking it, I know I can do better, should I take a third time?)

Alternative choices:

USC (stretching it with weak LSAT)
UCLA (ditto)
UC-Davis
Houston
Baylor
San Diego
SMU

I have been in New York since graduation working in various industries: media planning and advertising, Voiceover Acting (yes, I featured in multiple commercials, ha). I came to New York to discover myself after originally desiring Law School right after graduation, and have come full circle and passionately want a career in law.

Does being a graduate from the same university have any effect on admissions? Does anyone know from experience?

Should I take the LSAT a (gasp) third time?

Thank you for your help!
Patrick

rjr575

Re: 3.72/162 Mexican-American, UT undergrad graduate

Postby rjr575 » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:53 pm

As a fellow Mexican-American who has been accepted to UT, I believe that you have a good shot of getting in. Also 3/4's Mexican-American means that you will get the URM boost. Apply early decision and write a strong diversity and personal statement. If you can score better, why not test again? It could definitely increase your chances and give you a good shot at recieving scholarship money.

pdrez

Postby pdrez » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:02 pm

Thanks for your response, lifted my spirits. I just got my latest LSAT score two days ago and was 3 points shy of what I should have gotten (just human, test-day mistakes on my part).