2.5 (2.9) / 165 ?? school in SE Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
splitterhopeful

New

2.5 (2.9) / 165 ?? school in SE

Post by splitterhopeful » Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:57 pm

I just received a 165 on the June LSAT and found out that LSAC dropped my GPA from a 2.9 to a 2.5 :)

I have a major upward grade trend (retook my entire first semester for one, which LSAC counted)
I have 3 years work experience at diverse, yet not amazing positions. Will have professional recommendations (1 or 2)
I will be applying as early as possible and am banking on writing and re-writing personal statements and optional essays and just being persistent as hell (I got a personal letter from my registrar sent to LSAC arguing my GPA to no avail..haha)

I want to go to school in the SE, somewhere that doesn't have a lot of competition. My #1 goal = jobs
I really want to go to Wake Forest and know someone who can write a recommendation that was a board member. I will apply their new early decision. I am also thinking Tulane. I don't care about paying sticker (I am making less than 20k a year right now...it is only up from here, debt or not).

What do you think? Thanks!

EDIT-As for retaking the LSAT, I averaged a 169 on my PTs and hit a high of 174 (in the 170s about five times total). -4 on my LG really messed me up.

splitterhopeful

New

Re: 2.5 (2.9) / 165 ?? school in SE

Post by splitterhopeful » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:23 pm

b

Grizz

Diamond

Post by Grizz » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:38 pm

Paying sticker is an absolutely atrocious idea which could land you in an indentured servitude type situation quite easily from the only schools your numbers will get you into.