Would it improve my chances if...

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
nonpareilpearl

Would it improve my chances if...

Postby nonpareilpearl » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:48 pm

...I took a couple classes in the '10-'11 academic year?

I graduated in 2008 with Physics (BS) and Mathematics (BS), my cumulative GPA was a 3.0 - mainly because I wasn't sure if I wanted to be a Physicist but (somewhat stupidly) continued to plug along anyway (and was miserable). After graduation I started working full time.

I haven't taken the LSAT yet, but I've been looking at LSN and so forth and I've noticed that I would need a really, really high score to compensate for my GPA to keep as many opportunities open as possible. Right now money is a bit stressed, but I was wondering if there was some benefit to trying to take a couple classes to help bolster my GPA? Or should I just focus on the LSAT? I'm a bit worried that if I freak out too much for the LSAT, that the stress will negatively impact my score anyway...

Any advice appreciated :)

emkay625

Re: Would it improve my chances if...

Postby emkay625 » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:51 pm

Oooo I had the same question.

bitlrc

Postby bitlrc » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:52 pm

i'm pretty sure your lsac gpa will only take into account grades earned before you earned your first bachelors degree

thickfreakness

Postby thickfreakness » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:52 pm

If you've already graduated then your LSAC GPA is set and taking more classes won't change that. Just focus on scoring as highly as possible on your LSAT, lining up good references, and working on your essays and such.

HBK

Postby HBK » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:54 pm

Classes taken after your bachelors is awarded are not factored into your LSAC GPA. Taking additional classes would be a waste of time and money.

Edit: I see this has already been answered. Apparently my typing is too slow this morning.

gymboree