3.15 Accounting/IS double major, studying for June LSAT

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
chicagobullsfan

3.15 Accounting/IS double major, studying for June LSAT

Postby chicagobullsfan » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:29 pm

Hi everyone,

So I'm not sure if I'm a unique sort of candidate or not, but anyways - I majored in accounting and information systems (2 majors) in college and minored in poly sci - got 150 credit hours out of the way a few years ago (2006). I graduated from a top 100 business school as an undergrad, and went straight into a public accounting firm out of college. After a year, I switched over to industry and have been working in internal auditing for a "big pharma" company for the last 3 years.

As far as "softs," I have recently completed 2/4 of the CPA examination and plan on passing the other two sections before the end of the year (November - probably not before I send out my applications, unfortunately). I am the assistant national fundraising director of a national 501(c) 3, which deals with disaster relief (primarily) and urban development, and I have been involved in setting up a local walkathon for this organization the last 3 years. This year (2010) I have also begun to get involved (on the side) with a fledgling think-tank of sorts that is trying to work with Congress to push for better minority rights and protections in 3rd world countries (namely Pakistan, Indonesia, and Bangladesh). EDIT: I guess if college softs still count, I was president of a honors fraternity for a year and did 2-3 different types of volunteering (1 of which I still continue to do to this day).

Recently, after a lot of talking with people, and a lot of thinking on my own, and scouring this website as well, I have decided the next step is for me to try to take the LSAT and apply to law school, particularly to pursue the latter issue I mentioned above further, and see what happens.