Somewhat unique circumstances for a 178/3.76 (HYPS)

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
The Nony Mouse

Somewhat unique circumstances for a 178/3.76 (HYPS)

Postby The Nony Mouse » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:12 pm

I have some (possibly) unique/problematic circumstances surrounding my numbers.

I graduated from HYPS undergrad with a 3.76, and got a 178 on the LSAT (first time). My softs are average/weak - summer research/internships and a lot of work experience in undergrad (worked 2-4 part time jobs at a time throughout college to help pay bills), but not much in the way of extracurriculars. My LORs are (I believe) excellent, from professors who know me well (and one of whom will probably be familiar to people in the legal profession)

My senior year, a couple things happened that I'm worried may be problematic for my app. Due to changing financial circumstances at home, I took on a fourth part-time job for the second half of my senior year that took up a substantial amount of time. Over the course of senior year, I also began struggling seriously with a (clinically diagnosed/medicated) case of depression/anxiety, which had been on and off for a few years. These issues, along with some other unrelated challenges, culminated in me having to make the decision midway through the year to withdraw from an honors thesis I was writing (which was equivalent to two classes worth of coursework). I did this with the full support of my advisor, who (after the withdrawal) wrote one of my LORs (which I know was very positive). Furthermore, this contributed to me having a gap in employment for a number of months after graduation (I filled in a few months of this time by doing low-budget traveling/backpacking).