2.6 gpa/ lsat 153+

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
sc24evr

2.6 gpa/ lsat 153+

Postby sc24evr » Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:48 pm

I am a recent graduate of Georgia Tech with a degree in Mechanical Engineering with a 2.6 gpa. I am trying to get into law schools that are local to the Atlanta area but I have no idea what my actual chances are of getting in. I took the LSAT last week and I estimate my score at around a 153 (haven't gotten it back yet). I have been taking practice tests at around 157 or so. I am currently working for a probation company and I am also hispanic. I am applying to John Marshall Law, Georgia State and University of Georgia. I have solid letters of recommendation as well as a decent personal statement. I am worried that my gpa is going to hold me back but my UG school was rediculously tough. I am SOL? Thanks in advance.

ilovebobbyflay

Re: 2.6 gpa/ lsat 153+

Postby ilovebobbyflay » Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:55 am

I stopped readying after 2.6 gpa you might be s.o.l.

reasonabledoubt

Postby reasonabledoubt » Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:57 am

ilovebobbyflay wrote:I stopped readying after 2.6 gpa you might be s.o.l.

Don't listen to bobby flay groupie.... the GPA is the least of your concerns. I'd worry more about the LSAT..... but why don't you just wait and see what you get, then decide on whether or not to retake then.

mb88

Postby mb88 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:07 am

reasonabledoubt wrote:

Don't listen to bobby flay groupie.... the GPA is the least of your concerns. I'd worry more about the LSAT..... but why don't you just wait and see what you get, then decide on whether or not to retake then.

Are you kidding? At least he's scoring above average on the LSAT. Unless he can pull it up to 160+ though he's going to be stuck with the bottom 1/3 of the unranked schools and even those are iffy.