Need help with a law school related class project

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Pebbles

Need help with a law school related class project

Postby Pebbles » Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:44 am

So I have to find what law schools I plan to apply to for a class. Currently, I'm a Sophomore with a 3.54 gpa (was 3.75 until some problems last semester) and a 161 (cold) lsat.

I already have what I would consider quite good softs. I hope to graduate with at least a 3.65, and plan to take an LSAT Prep course.

My professor said that we must be reasonable and realistic, not picking ones in the T14 just to sound impressive. Since I'm assigned to come up with a list of reach, good match, and safety schools, where do I stand/ would be reasonable for me to expect to stand?

Right now, the top schools I've looked at are (to be considered "reach") Georgetown, and Vanderbilt. Am I being unreasonable? What would be good ones to put in each category? I've tried the calculators out there, but I just don't know how helpful they are since I'm so tempted to just enter my ideal numbers, and at the same time I know I am pretty sure that I can and will raise my gpa and lsat over the next two years.

T14_Scholly

Re: Need help with a law school related class project

Postby T14_Scholly » Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:49 am

It's basically impossible to say without knowing your LSAT score. However, someone who tests 161 cold can almost certainly raise their score into the 170s. Go to http://www.lawschoolpredictor.com, plug in 3.6 & 170, and see what it says.

englawyer

Postby englawyer » Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:37 am

Pebbles wrote:So I have to find what law schools I plan to apply to for a class. Currently, I'm a Sophomore with a 3.54 gpa (was 3.75 until some problems last semester) and a 161 (cold) lsat.