Wait listed at American...chances at other schools?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
samham22

Wait listed at American...chances at other schools?

Postby samham22 » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:48 pm

I have taken the LSAT once, 159 (156-162 score band) 78th% and have an LSAC gpa of 3.44. I have decent softs (plenty of volunteer experience, internships, some leadership activities, part time job all through undergrad) and all my letters are from Professors. I am not a URM, however I am of middle eastern descent and felt like I wrote a pretty decent personal statement. I am graduating this semester from University of Iowa and would rather not take time off so I applied to a host of schools that I thought were worthwhile. However, depending on which schools I get into/if I don't get into any of them at all I would be willing to take a year off and study the crap out of the LSAT (I studied for a couple weeks but know with a month or more of preparation I could max out in the 163-165 range). I have a few questions, first off the only school that has responded (I applied to all of them in early January) is American University and they have 'wait listed' me. My question is do I still have a legitimate shot at getting in there? 50/50? Less? I don't know anything about the 'wait listing' process/chances so any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I was also hoping I could get some feedback about my chances at the other schools I applied to (which I will list at the end of this post)?? Is being wait listed at American a good sign for my chances at lower ranked schools?? Lastly, with the current economic climate and all would I be better off taking a year off and re-applying to some higher ranked schools with a better score?? Or by the time I graduate 3 years from now will the climate be much improved?? The only reason I haven't retaken the test yet is because I wanted to see where I'd get in w