Accepted into law school but should I retake the LSAT? Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
Angelic414

New

Accepted into law school but should I retake the LSAT?

Post by Angelic414 » Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:34 am

Hello Everyone,

I'm facing a bit of a crisis. So I took my LSAT for the first time in October 2015. I studied so hard and was in the 150s for my practice exams. Unfortunately, I only got a 149 on the exam. (My gpa is terrible its 3.3 - but I did work for Legal Aid for 2 years and also volunteered in Sudan)

I decided to apply see which schools I would get into and CUNY law was one of the schools that accepted me. At first I was excited about this because CUNY is cheap, and it focuses on public interest (Which is what I'd like to study). However, I am starting to feel anxious because I know that I could've done much better on the exam plus I have read so many negative comments about CUNY on this website and countless forums.

I already submitted my deposit to CUNY but I am not sure if I should retake the exam (is it too late?), go for the first year and transfer out, or write a letter of continued interest to St. John's University (waitlisted me).

Please help! Any advice is helpful!

acr

Silver

Re: Accepted into law school but should I retake the LSAT?

Post by acr » Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:37 am

There is no justification to go to law school with a 3.3/149. You will need to retake for 170+ to make law school a worthwhile investment.

BasilHallward

Silver

Post by BasilHallward » Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:39 am

Very bad idea. I'm sure your heart is in the right place, but CUNY will not place you in any legitimate public interest gig. This is what NYU is for. You MUST retake, or simply don't go to law school. You can get involved in public policy and so forth without going to law school, much less a garbage law school. You've been warned.

manuelsig

New