St. John's or Maryland

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
shoregirl

St. John's or Maryland

Postby shoregirl » Wed Apr 08, 2015 9:46 pm

Hi guys! So I am a Maryland resident with a lot of family in NY so I am currently stuck deciding between SJ and UMD. SJ offered me a full tuition scholarship so I would just have to pay for housing. Maryland offered me only a couple thousand so it would be about 23 thousand a year plus housing. COL is cheaper in Baltimore (not by much) and MD is ranked in the high 40's (48 I believe) while SJ's is ranked 82. I'm still waiting to hear back from a few more schools but these two look like my best options right now. I honestly don't know if I'd rather live in NY or MD after law school so this is an obvious issue. I'm currently trying to get more money from MD so we will see how that goes. Any and all advice welcome!

Capitol_Idea

Re: St. John's or Maryland

Postby Capitol_Idea » Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:02 pm

People who care more are going to be asking you to provide a lot more info, but in the meanwhile let's make this a Choose-Your-Own-Adventure:

1. If you'd like to practice in a Big Law Firm, or get a federal clerkship, or practice any kind of law outside of MD or NY, go to 2. Otherwise, go to 3.

2. RESULT: Re-take LSAT, sit out a cycle and re-apply. Blanket schools in the area you want to apply to and some top 14 schools if your GPA/LSAT scores are high enough. Negotiate for money. Take a full scholly at a good regional school or decent money at a t14 school.

3. OK, so you want to practice something reasonable that a regional firm could provide. If you want to practice in NY, go to 4. If you want to practice in MD, go to 5.