GW vs. University of San Diego Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.

GW or USD?

GW
73%
USD
27%

Total votes: 51

DC_Patent_Law

Bronze

GW vs. University of San Diego

Post by DC_Patent_Law » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:17 pm

I know people at this board will consider me crazy but hear me out:

I've been wanting to go to Cali for about 3 years now but couldn't with the down economy. I've been working in patent law for about 8 years in D.C. as a Patent Agent, so getting a job out of law school will not be a problem.

Earlier this year I got into USD with 40% scholly, 2.0 stip. So, that was perfect, sunny Cali singing its sweet song to me, and so I started packing my bags.

I just got off the GW waitlist today. That throws me in a loop because a) the ranking b) its really good for patent law and c) my firm will cover about 40% tuition as well if I go to GW.

Just how much will I be shooting myself in the foot if I go to USD instead?

abc12345675

Bronze

Re: GW vs. University of San Diego

Post by abc12345675 » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:21 pm

DC_Patent_Law wrote:I know people at this board will consider me crazy but hear me out:

I've been wanting to go to Cali for about 3 years now but couldn't with the down economy. I've been working in patent law for about 8 years in D.C. as a Patent Agent, so getting a job out of law school will not be a problem.

Earlier this year I got into USD with 40% scholly, 2.0 stip. So, that was perfect, sunny Cali singing its sweet song to me, and so I started packing my bags.

I just got off the GW waitlist today. That throws me in a loop because a) the ranking b) its really good for patent law and c) my firm will cover about 40% tuition as well if I go to GW.

I'm not sure I understand your dilemma. So you believe you could get a job no matter what? And you want to live in CA? Go to USD then! GW is a good school, but isn't elite by any measure.

2012JayDee