What should I do this fall? Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
brownpride

Bronze

What should I do this fall?

Post by brownpride » Thu May 17, 2012 5:10 pm

I graduated this spring and applied this cycle as well - was applied to HLS, where I deposited and was granted a deferral. Such had been my plan since I began my undergrad degree, as I've known for a few years I wanted to study law but also knew that I ultimately want to work in international relations and want to earn a graduate degree in that field before law school. I want this for two reasons: 1) Every person I know in law school has told me to take a year off before coming into law school as it enhances perspective/maturity, and 2) I personally want the intellectual development grad studies in my field will bring. I also am young - 21 - as I finished my degree in three years as opposed to four. I know I could go straight into law this fall and do fine, but I just feel that I'd get more from the experience by waiting a year and working on myself more.