Unethical Admission Practices at Case Western Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
lawapp11

New

Unethical Admission Practices at Case Western

Post by lawapp11 » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:40 pm

Hi all,

I'm a long time fan of tls, but this is my first time posting.

My application was put on hold by Case Western around February and I was placed on the waitlist in late April. I sent in my LOCI and waitlist reply form confirming my interest in the school. However, now I see that people who were originally rejected by Case Western are now getting admitted with scholarships. There are still people on the waitlist, and it seems that Case Western prefers to admit students who were previously rejected rather than using the waitlist.

I understand that Case Western has no obligation to admit me, but I think it is unethical to place people on the waitlist with no interest in using the list. I would understand if the school had completely filled the incoming class, and therefore does not need to use the waitlist. However, Case Western is accepting previously rejected applicants at the expense of waitlisted applicants. Why admit people who were originally rejected without first accepting people of the waitlist? Case Western should either utilize the waitlist or release people from the list. I expressed to Case Western that it is my first choice school, and I will attend if admit. Still I'm getting annoyed with the school's admission practices of admitting rejected applicants before utilizing the waitlist.

Does anyone know whether this is common practice at other schools? If this is an unreasonable rant, I apologize. Please set me straight.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Unethical Admission Practices at Case Western

Post by CanadianWolf » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:41 pm

How do you know that rejected applicants were subsequently admitted ?

lawapp11

New