Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
ocbrody
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:13 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby ocbrody » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:13 pm

harrijust86 wrote:
ocbrody wrote:Can't seem to get it to save login info on step 2 on a Mac. Tried reinstalling/exiting out multiple times with no luck...any ideas?


As previously mentioned you must first save step 1. If this isnt the solution then ive got nothing for ya. (PC user with no problems thus far)


Yep...the schools save fine in step 1 (they show up in the drop-down menu on step 2) so that isn't the issue.

User avatar
shatra
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby shatra » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:20 pm

ocbrody wrote:Can't seem to get it to save login info on step 2 on a Mac. Tried reinstalling/exiting out multiple times with no luck...any ideas?


Do you or does anyone know if it happened in the original version as well? That way at least I'll know if it's something that was changed or if it was a problem even in the first version.

Edit: Also, did you use the original version and then uninstall and reinstall the new one, or have you only used the new one? Just trying to pinpoint where the problem might be.
Last edited by shatra on Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
beidoun
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:27 am

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby beidoun » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:21 pm

This is awesome. I wish I had this earlier in my cycle.

Thanks. BTW, I have a mac and it works just fine.

amorfati
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:14 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby amorfati » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:43 pm

Great idea, thanks!

But just checking to make sure mine is working properly - is the last page ("Step 3 - Status") supposed to be remain completely blank until there is a change in status? Or is it supposed to say something (ie, current status)? Just curious, because I've tried running it on both my mac and on Windows 7 via Parallels Desktop and have had the same blank page on both... thoughts?

User avatar
shatra
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby shatra » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:44 pm

amorfati wrote:Great idea, thanks!

But just checking to make sure mine is working properly - is the last page ("Step 3 - Status") supposed to be remain completely blank until there is a change in status? Or is it supposed to say something (ie, current status)? Just curious, because I've tried running it on both my mac and on Windows 7 via Parallels Desktop and have had the same blank page on both... thoughts?


Nothing shows up until you save your list of schools. Have you saved it and the page is still blank?

Edit: Ohh, within the school sections themselves. Woops. harrijust86 down there has the right idea, just hit the refresh button and it should fill everything in.
Last edited by shatra on Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ocbrody
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:13 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby ocbrody » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:45 pm

shatra wrote:
ocbrody wrote:Can't seem to get it to save login info on step 2 on a Mac. Tried reinstalling/exiting out multiple times with no luck...any ideas?


Do you or does anyone know if it happened in the original version as well? That way at least I'll know if it's something that was changed or if it was a problem even in the first version.

Edit: Also, did you use the original version and then uninstall and reinstall the new one, or have you only used the new one? Just trying to pinpoint where the problem might be.


I installed the previous version, ran it once, but didn't save any schools/login info. (I'm not cool enough for the T14) I then downloaded/installed the new version, which overwrote the old version. When I couldn't get it to work, I uninstalled/reinstalled the new version a couple times but I'm sure there's some prefs which were left behind during the process. I'll try to hunt those down and do a clean reinstall. (Macs aren't great at deleting everything when you uninstall things.)

User avatar
harrijust86
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:57 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby harrijust86 » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:48 pm

amorfati wrote:Great idea, thanks!

But just checking to make sure mine is working properly - is the last page ("Step 3 - Status") supposed to be remain completely blank until there is a change in status? Or is it supposed to say something (ie, current status)? Just curious, because I've tried running it on both my mac and on Windows 7 via Parallels Desktop and have had the same blank page on both... thoughts?


there is a refresh all button bottom left... push it and it should take a few seconds and it will start pulling them all down one by one.

My own question. If i close the program with the X and then go to open it again later it actually brings up the update installer, runs through the process(but it only takes a few seconds) and then starts up. Is this normal? Just trying to provide some info so you can continue to tweak this Winning F-18

ku1185
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby ku1185 » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:49 pm

Great app. Thanks for investing the time and effort into making this.

User avatar
shatra
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby shatra » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:53 pm

harrijust86 wrote:
amorfati wrote:Great idea, thanks!

But just checking to make sure mine is working properly - is the last page ("Step 3 - Status") supposed to be remain completely blank until there is a change in status? Or is it supposed to say something (ie, current status)? Just curious, because I've tried running it on both my mac and on Windows 7 via Parallels Desktop and have had the same blank page on both... thoughts?


there is a refresh all button bottom left... push it and it should take a few seconds and it will start pulling them all down one by one.

My own question. If i close the program with the X and then go to open it again later it actually brings up the update installer, runs through the process(but it only takes a few seconds) and then starts up. Is this normal? Just trying to provide some info so you can continue to tweak this Winning F-18


If it only does it once then it's normal, but if it does it every time then no.

ocbrody
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:13 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby ocbrody » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:06 pm

Ok got it to work. As I suspected, Macs are terrible at deleting old settings/files/etc. when you uninstall something so in upgrading from 1.0 to 1.1 the old settings were left in a file folder. If anyone is having problems with the new version on Mac, you need to delete the entire folder at /Users/[user name]/Library/Application Support/Titanium/appdata/com.lsstatuscheck.statuscheck and then reinstall. This should do the trick.

amorfati
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:14 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby amorfati » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:09 pm

shatra wrote:
amorfati wrote:Great idea, thanks!

But just checking to make sure mine is working properly - is the last page ("Step 3 - Status") supposed to be remain completely blank until there is a change in status? Or is it supposed to say something (ie, current status)? Just curious, because I've tried running it on both my mac and on Windows 7 via Parallels Desktop and have had the same blank page on both... thoughts?


Nothing shows up until you save your list of schools. Have you saved it and the page is still blank?


On the mac, I save the list of schools and attempt to save the login info. The schools seem to save, but the login info doesn't (or at least the save is not confirmed in the bottom right). Also, I don't see any refresh button...

As for Windows 7, I originally seemed to be having the same issue. However, I've tried to go back and look for the refresh button, and now the program won't open at all - even after a re-install I'm told the program has encountered a fatal error ("not enough room for thread data" or something to that effect).

Unfortunately it seems my status checker addiction is not meant to be cured... :(

User avatar
shatra
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby shatra » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:13 pm

amorfati wrote:
On the mac, I save the list of schools and attempt to save the login info. The schools seem to save, but the login info doesn't (or at least the save is not confirmed in the bottom right). Also, I don't see any refresh button...

As for Windows 7, I originally seemed to be having the same issue. However, I've tried to go back and look for the refresh button, and now the program won't open at all - even after a re-install I'm told the program has encountered a fatal error ("not enough room for thread data" or something to that effect).

Unfortunately it seems my status checker addiction is not meant to be cured... :(


You might want to try something similar to what ocbrody did and clear all the saved data. On windows the folder is C:\[Your Logon Name]\AppData\Roaming\Titanium\appdata\com.lsstatuscheck.statuscheck. Although the fact that you're having similar problems in both operating systems is very odd. :?

amorfati
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:14 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby amorfati » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:16 pm

Just tried it on OS X, and now I seem to be getting further - the login info saved. However, the "status" screen is still blank, and I don't see a refresh button... am I completely blind? Where is this button supposed to be exactly? (Thanks for the help btw!)

User avatar
shatra
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby shatra » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:19 pm

amorfati wrote:Just tried it on OS X, and now I seem to be getting further - the login info saved. However, the "status" screen is still blank, and I don't see a refresh button... am I completely blind? Where is this button supposed to be exactly? (Thanks for the help btw!)


Well, at least we're getting somewhere. When you click the save button for the schools does it say "Application(s) saved." in the status bar at the bottom or does it just stay blank?

amorfati
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:14 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby amorfati » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:34 pm

It does "Applications saved" and "Options saved" each time, and so far I've managed one "Login saved," but that one has since stopped working again... :(

I wish I could keep working on this now (I'm so excited!), but unfortunately I have to run to work! Thanks so much for your help though, I'll keep working on it tomorrow. In the meantime I look forward to hearing any advice - thanks! :)

User avatar
rubbersoul89
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:55 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby rubbersoul89 » Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:23 am

I have a mac and was also having trouble only getting a blank page. I got it to work by going back though each step and clicking save again. Then a drop down menu with my schools pooped up where the blank page used to be in step 3 and it seems to be working great now!

User avatar
drmguy
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:43 am

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby drmguy » Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:05 am

shatra wrote:
amorfati wrote:
On the mac, I save the list of schools and attempt to save the login info. The schools seem to save, but the login info doesn't (or at least the save is not confirmed in the bottom right). Also, I don't see any refresh button...

As for Windows 7, I originally seemed to be having the same issue. However, I've tried to go back and look for the refresh button, and now the program won't open at all - even after a re-install I'm told the program has encountered a fatal error ("not enough room for thread data" or something to that effect).

Unfortunately it seems my status checker addiction is not meant to be cured... :(


You might want to try something similar to what ocbrody did and clear all the saved data. On windows the folder is C:\[Your Logon Name]\AppData\Roaming\Titanium\appdata\com.lsstatuscheck.statuscheck. Although the fact that you're having similar problems in both operating systems is very odd. :?



Any Mac users having troubles do this. I was having the blank screen troubles and this fixed it.

User avatar
Gaucho
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby Gaucho » Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:10 pm

downloaded v 1.1 and got it to work on the macbook.

truly a handy program...OP I feel there could be a decent market for software like this. Thanks for sharing.

User avatar
DubPoker
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 4:13 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby DubPoker » Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:52 pm

shatra wrote:I've updated it (but not released just yet) to include all the schools I could find status trackers through rank 100, these are the ones I couldn't find:
UCLA
U Texas-Austin
George Washington U
Boston U
Emory U
U Notre Dame
Indiana U - Bloomington
U North Carolina
Arizona State U
U Colorado - Boulder
UC Hastings
U Cincinnati
U Oregon
Syracuse U
U Richmond
U Missouri - Columbia
U Nebraska - Lincoln
Marquette U


UNC's status checker is https://aces2.lsac.org/YourStatus/membe ... gP7I5Jc%3D

found on the right side of this page http://www.law.unc.edu/admissions/applynow/default.aspx

Edit: just downloaded your app OP... I luv you

User avatar
helloperson
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:26 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby helloperson » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:04 pm

.
Last edited by helloperson on Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
swilson215
Posts: 1109
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:35 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby swilson215 » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:18 pm

omg, why did i not have this back in December?! I would have been so much more productive at work!!!!!

pballer
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:58 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby pballer » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:24 pm

Thank you so much for doing this! The e-mail alert particularly makes being at work a lot less stressful =).

User avatar
shatra
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby shatra » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:29 pm

pballer wrote:Thank you so much for doing this! The e-mail alert particularly makes being at work a lot less stressful =).


Glad to hear it. :)

bendurnotes4me
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:36 am

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby bendurnotes4me » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:46 pm

How do you uninstall it on a mac? It doesn't work on my computer and I can't figure out how to get it off

User avatar
DubPoker
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 4:13 pm

Re: Status Checker Addiction Cure (Hopefully)

Postby DubPoker » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:47 pm

Shatra

Not to complain, but your website says you added UNC on 3/7, but I just installed again and don't see it under the school list. Maybe i'm doing something wrong.

Kudos again for the awesome app




Return to “Law School Acceptances, Denials, and Waitlists”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chili_davis and 14 guests