Scored 143 2nd LSAT, and 141 1st. Serious advice please*

TomTank77

Scored 143 2nd LSAT, and 141 1st. Serious advice please*

Postby TomTank77 » Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:25 pm

Alright looks guys, I know that this is called "top law schools" and I definetely do not fit into that category, but I really need some sound and honest advice. Please not rude remarks, I know you have better scores, etc...

I have a LSAC GPA of 2.84 (like 3.7 in major). My undergrad was in English-Professional and Technical writing. I took my first LSAT in December 05, and after only taking a couple of practice test, I got a 141. But I was scoring in the high 150's on all my practice. I finally determined that I must have been taking old test, and therefore easier than recent.

After 2 1/2 years, I enrolled in a Kaplan course and on my Kaplan Diagnostic I scored a 141 again. I studied my but off for this second test (June 08) and I only pulled a 143, which I though could have been in the mid 150's.

Anyways, I was hoping to get into Barry University or Gulf Coast, something in FL because I live in Tampa Bay area. I'm a cancer survivor and I can probably declare NA as race (although I'm working on getting a bloodline card (I'm 1/8)). Anyways, I need some honest advice-Can I possibly get into a lower level score (Barry) or should I just face reality and move on? Kaplan says I can retake the class again for free for October, but I honestly do not feel that they helped me and I did all the work. I don't know that after 2 1/2 years not making a difference it's worth the stress and feelings of "crap".

Please give some advice and no I don't want to be 'chanced' YHS :oops:

ender311

Re: Scored 143 2nd LSAT, and 141 1st. Serious advice please*

Postby ender311 » Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:26 pm

individual tutoring. seriously, coming from both a student and teacher, find someone who has scored high and can communicate effectively, while making you feel comfortable.

Baron