Why do People Cancel LSAT Scores? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Eggs

New

Why do People Cancel LSAT Scores?

Post by Eggs » Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:44 pm

The title mostly says it all. If you can take it as many times as you want, and schools really just care about the top score, why do people feel the need to cancel before knowing what they got?

LivHandsome

Re: Why do People Cancel LSAT Scores?

Post by LivHandsome » Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:09 pm

Most of what I've heard has suggested that schools consider all your scores, unless you can provide a compelling reason that the highest one is more representative of your capabilities than the others (e.g. death in the family right before test, etc.). If that's true, it might be a good idea to cancel a score if you think/know you didn't improve so it doesn't reflect poorly on you.

This is mostly coming from info on T14/T20, though, so maybe it's different for other schools. I'm also pretty new to the game, so take this with a grain of salt, I guess.

nixy

Gold

Post by nixy » Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:17 pm

It's probably based on advice that's a hold over from when you couldn't take it as many times as you liked.

Schools only care about the highest score, because that's all they have to report. But they will see all your scores, for whatever that's worth.

LivHandsome

Post by LivHandsome » Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:26 pm

nixy wrote:It's probably based on advice that's a hold over from when you couldn't take it as many times as you liked.

Schools only care about the highest score, because that's all they have to report. But they will see all your scores, for whatever that's worth.
Huh. Well then feel free to ignore me, OP.

Wild Card

Silver

Post by Wild Card » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:24 pm

Fundamentally, they're dumb or they lack common sense, in underestimating how much the score matters.