where to start? 150 first diagnostic, 8 months to study Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
epncntk1998

New

where to start? 150 first diagnostic, 8 months to study

Post by epncntk1998 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:27 pm

I'm a sophomore in college planning on taking the June 2019 LSAT. I just took my first diagnostic and scored a 150. This was timed and my first time ever looking at the test. Here is my breakdown:

Sec 1: -12
Sec 2: -7
Sec 3: -12
Sec 4: -10

Where should I start? I have a little over a year to prepare, but will be studying abroad from August - December, so lets say 8 months of actual time to prepare. When I'm back at school next spring, I'm planning on lightloading (only 12 credit hours) so I will have some extra time to dedicate to studying.

Any tips and advice is appreciated! Obviously my ideal score is a 180, but more realistically I would like to improve to the upper 160s.

Thanks!

albanach

Gold

Re: where to start? 150 first diagnostic, 8 months to study

Post by albanach » Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:08 pm

What section was what? Break those scores down by Reading Comprehension, Logical Raining, and Logic Gages.

That said, there are plenty of guides here on how to do well in the lsat and 150 is a perfectly acceptable diagnostic score. Follow the guides and ask if you have specific issues.

I try to tell everyone, focus on accuracy first, speed comes later. Don't go rushing off to take lots of times tests before you're ready. You won't spend long enough on each question to understand and master them, and there'll be a bunch you never even get to. Take your time initially to really learn the types of questions.

You can repay Logic games. Once I'd done quite a few, I started to keep old ones in my pocket when I was out. If I ever found I had ten minutes free, I'd do a game again.

preamble

Bronze

Post by preamble » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:27 pm