Taking the Same Prep Tests twice worth it? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
t14orbust22

New

Taking the Same Prep Tests twice worth it?

Post by t14orbust22 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:14 pm

I know this is obvious, but maybe just to make myself feel better I'm going to ask anyways. I studied for the September test and was taking PTs in June, July, Aug and I "burned through" most of the modern practice PTs (2010 and later). It's been 3-4 month since I've taken these tests, and I'm scoring 8-9 points higher which makes me feel very good, but also I know some of it likely has to do with the fact I've done the problems before.

I guess long story short, my question is do you think it's worthwile to take the same test more than once after review? It's not like I remember the answers to the questions, but having read an RC passage before or even having done an LG game before I clearly have an advantage, and I'm worried that the the big improvements I'm seeing may have less to do with my skills improving, and more to do with subconscious memorization or even having an idea of what is going on since I've done it before.

Barack O'Drama

Gold

Re: Taking the Same Prep Tests twice worth it?

Post by Barack O'Drama » Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:17 pm

Yes, they are still worthwhile to take. Unless you can get a 180 timed on all of those tests then there is still plenty to learn from them. Just realize your scores on them may be a bit inflated so they won't be much good as indicators of your scores in the same way a fresh test would.
Last edited by Barack O'Drama on Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

damask_rain

New

Post by damask_rain » Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:05 pm