Multiyear LSAT Breakthroughs

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
cantyoloforever

Bronze

Multiyear LSAT Breakthroughs

Postby cantyoloforever » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:57 pm

Is there anyone on these boards who has spent an inordinate amount of time studying for the LSAT, and managed to acquire their goal score? Any late stage breakthroughs?

I studied for the LSAT for a year, and scored my test average (168-170). Spent three more months studying for a retake, and scored slightly lower. Applied, got waitlisted at most of the schools I applied to, started to feel like my options were bad and I needed to retake.

So I've been studying for about 3 more months now. Lots and lots of test retakes, went through the Manhattan LR book, feel like my understanding has improved, but it's hard to tell. Also just feel so tired of studying for this f'ing test lol. I was recently laid off, so I told myself it was a sign to push through.

Like I said, I'm looking for some advice from TLSers who spent a long time with this test, and were able to find some measure of success.

cantyoloforever

Bronze

Re: Multiyear LSAT Breakthroughs

Postby cantyoloforever » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:09 pm

Relevant info:

Official Test Breakdown:
LR: -3 per section (hardest questions, occasionally will overthink an easy one)
AR: -1 (typically a dumb error)
RC: -5 (I can go perfect on some sections, but it's always a wild card. This is the one section I have never really been able to figure out, and I told myself for this final take I would just focus on perfecting games and reasoning, and let RC be as it is)

My study schedule went like this -

First 3 months - learned the test through the PowerScore bibles with the occasional prep test