What is best, tutor or prep class? and do they really increase your score?

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Guineapiggirl

New

What is best, tutor or prep class? and do they really increase your score?

Postby Guineapiggirl » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:54 am

I studied for about 4 months from the powerscore books (logic games and reasoning). Being honest, I'm not good keeping a schedule for myself and I ended up getting a poor score. I'm going to apply next cycle... does a tutor or prep class increase a score significantly?
Any recommendations about certain companies?

Gold

Re: What is best, tutor or prep class? and do they really increase your score?

Postby 20170322 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:59 am

Guineapiggirl wrote:I studied for about 4 months from the powerscore books (logic games and reasoning). Being honest, I'm not good keeping a schedule for myself and I ended up getting a poor score. I'm going to apply next cycle... does a tutor or prep class increase a score significantly?

Tbh I think I'd fix this before law school. Studying for the LSAT is a good way to learn how to keep a regimented study schedule.

Voyager

Silver

Postby Voyager » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:42 pm

The classes/tutor provide you with a proven study road map along with multiple ways to learn (classroom, books, drills, individual attention) AND the necessary materials.

Do people prep on their own and crush it? Oh for sure.

But the classes absolutely "work". Your score is highly likely to go up and I am betting by more than if you did it on your own (but that depends on the student)

As for the "best" class... you will get lots of debate on that. 10 years ago the courses with the most elite instructors were generally BluePrint, Manhattan Test Prep and TestMasters. Teaching at any of those required a top 1% score. Is that a good proxy for "best teacher"?