The Official June 2017 Study Group

gaandrsn

The Official June 2017 Study Group

Postby gaandrsn » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:04 pm

Hi all, I didn’t see a June thread yet, so I thought I’d start one. My apologies in advance for the length of this post.

I came across this forum back in 2011 when I first sat for the LSAT and have spent many many hours lurking and am hoping I can be of support and find support during this re-take journey.

A little about me-I graduated college in 2011 with a BS in Politics and Government and minors in Economics and Peace & Conflict Resolution and a 3.99GPA. This was at a state school and not a prestigious one at that, though. I believe law school admissions takes that into consideration. I also graduated college in 3 years (not sure if that matters to admissions and looking back I wish I would have slowed down and done it in 4) At the time, I was aiming for a 170+ that would enable me to attend HYS, although I couldn’t clearly articulate why I wanted to go other than the fact that it would be life-changing.

I took a cold diagnostic with PT7 on May 25, 2011 and scored a 165. I was pretty excited with this initial score. I self-studied from June-July utilizing the PowerScore LR and LG Bibles and following a guide I purchased from the lsatblog. I was only working part-time at a law firm and was able to devote a significant amount of time to study, but had difficulty focusing and started seeing a new girl around this time which was terrible for my study schedule.

I didn’t take my second full PT (#27) until August 1. I was pretty disappointed when I saw my score had decreased to 161. I felt like I needed extra accountability to stay focused at that time and signed up for and took the Manhattan live online course.