Fairly new to the game; overwhelmed with all the information and unsure where to start

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
MindyKale

New

Fairly new to the game; overwhelmed with all the information and unsure where to start

Postby MindyKale » Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:46 pm

Hi,

I currently work full time as a Software Engineer and I am considering taking the LSAT. I am fairly new to this, I have been looking up for information online and I am severely overwhelmed by the largesse of the internet w.r.t all things LSAT. But, I don't know where to start, I came across a few one-on-one prep services which seem to charge a fortune, self-study video courses that cost $1000+ and a ton of various a I am thoroughly confused.
1.) Can I prepare for the LSAT without relying on these courses and lectures and primarily by teaching myself? If so, how?
2.) Where do I start looking for information and some standard/highly recommended prep materials, preparation plans?
3.) Where can I find any of this information?

I apologize if I sound too naive or if this has been asked before but there are so many outlets, blogs and forums chiming in I have no clue what is reliable and where to start.

Thank you guys in advance.

RamTitan

Silver

Re: Fairly new to the game; overwhelmed with all the information and unsure where to start

Postby RamTitan » Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:41 pm

You can do this on your own (and most people recommend going this route).

Start with actively reading the PowerScore bibles or Manhattan workbooks.

Pozzo

Gold

Re: Fairly new to the game; overwhelmed with all the information and unsure where to start

Postby Pozzo » Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:46 pm

Hey MK, welcome aboard. This is a great place to start: http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=200917

airwrecka

Silver

Postby airwrecka » Tue Nov 22, 2016 6:08 pm