Improving LSAT Score

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Law2020hopeful

New

Improving LSAT Score

Postby Law2020hopeful » Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:00 am

Hi,

I'm pretty new to TLS. I am taking the December exam and applying this cycle (I know I may be disadvantaged but I'm already 7 years out of undergrad, I don't want to wait another year to apply 2017-2018 because I'd be 32 when I graduate).

I am taking TestMasters. I love the course. I'm doing the homework (as much as I can, one hundred pages of LR problems in 2 days is a bit unrealistic given that I work full time).

I diagnosed at 159 and my teacher tells me that I am improving very rapidly and he feels I'll have no problem scoring low to mid 170's in December.

My LSAT question is this: has anyone actually improved to score in the 170s in three months? Every post I read on this site seems to indicate that people spend a year studying to get that kind of score. Am I being naive to think it's possible for me?

Miscellaneous facts:
RC is my best section (-0 to -2 on passages/averaging -3 per section)
LG was my worst but now it's practically on par with my RC scores (I generally get -0 to -1 on every game with a couple of outliers of -2 or -3 but it's maybe one or two games) *I did the much talked about Dinosaur game this morning and went -0
LR is also improving, though not as quickly. I didn't start in an bad place for LR though. 75% accuracy at this point.
I'm only on lesson 6/15 in TestMasters so I still have a ton to learn/do
I dedicate a minimum of 2 hours per weekday to LSAT studying and much more on the weekends

I guess I just want to know if I'm being too optimistic thinking i'll hit 170 in December. Any advice/guidance is appreciated as well as any studying tips!

Mikey

Platinum

Re: Improving LSAT Score

Postby Mikey » Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:11 am

RC is your best section is GREAT! It's the most difficult to improve in so since its your best, that's better for you.