September LSAT- Strategy to increase from 167 to 170+ Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
birdkin

New

September LSAT- Strategy to increase from 167 to 170+

Post by birdkin » Thu Sep 08, 2016 11:44 am

Hi- I'm registered to take the September 24th LSAT. There's two weeks left of prep and I feel like I've hit a plateau. I started studying in June with an initial diagnostic of 160. I completed the Powerscore bibles and have done Preptests 19-38 and 52-62, scoring higher on old practice exams than on the new ones. I'm now scoring an average of 167, sometimes going as low as 165 and as high as 174. I've almost completed the first Powerscore game type training Logic Games book, and I've been working from their Game type training LR book and their LR workbook. I also have had 3 lessons with a private tutor.

I've been scoring around 167 for about a month with little success despite changing up my strategies. I am nearly perfect on Logic Games, getting no more than 2 wrong on a bad day. I get A LOT of logical reasoning questions wrong, about 6-10 per exam total. My reading comp section is usually 3-4 wrong.

I've tried to concentrate on the logical reasoning questions I get wrong, which are mostly Flaw, Weaken, Justify, and Assumption questions. I find that during 5 section practice exams, which I do 2x a week, I'm beginning to burn out. In addition to that I'm doing drills in LR to try to increase my LR score the days I'm not taking an exam.

I really want to take the exam in September, but I don't want to take it and risk scoring below a 170. I'm not sure what I can do in the next two weeks to increase my score by the amount I need to. I'm also worried about running out of materials/practice tests if I postpone to December.

If anyone has any advice, please, let me know quickly so I can maximize my studying in these next 2 weeks.

RamTitan

Silver

Re: September LSAT- Strategy to increase from 167 to 170+