How many hours must one study to get a 180? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Res publica

New

How many hours must one study to get a 180?

Post by Res publica » Thu May 26, 2016 10:45 pm

Hi, I am new to TLS forums. I apologize if this question has already been asked, as I am sure it has many times, but how many hours does it require to come close to scoring a 180 with decent probability that you will receive that score? I know that every test taker is different and that we all have different methods that are faster/slower etc., however a concrete numerical answer would be greatly appreciated. I had an initial goal of 1000 hours.

Second question, I don't have an internship this summer (currently an incoming junior) so I have been spending roughly 5-6 hours a day (5 days a week) at my local library of intense LSAT study. I intend to take the test in Fall of 2017, so that is really far away. I also fully intend to study during school, breaks, weekends, and next summer if I can, but I want to be sure that the information and skills I acquire this summer studying for the LSAT won't be worthless. Is prepping for the LSAT something that can be studied for well in advance? Or will I get the most out of prepping 2-3 months ahead of the exam instead?

Additional information:
-No tutoring/classes, 100% self-study
-Using 4 books : Kaplan LSAT Prep 2015, PowerScore LG Bible, PowerScore LR Bible, PowerScore RC Bible
-Expected GPA by end of undergrad: ~3.75

proteinshake

Gold

Re: How many hours must one study to get a 180?

Post by proteinshake » Thu May 26, 2016 10:53 pm

the fact that everyone is different means there is no number anyone can give you. you can study your whole life and still not manage close to a 180. others can get it after studying for just a few weeks. there is a necessary amount of studying that must be done, but there is not a sufficient amount. but I like the Cicero reference in your name.