Balancing a job and studying for the LSAT Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
ravenamo

New

Balancing a job and studying for the LSAT

Post by ravenamo » Thu May 19, 2016 2:30 pm

Hello everyone!

This is my first time on this site so I apologize if I posted this in the wrong forum or if a lot of people have asked this question before. I am just unsure of what I should do and I don't have people around me who are studying for the LSAT, so when I stumbled across this forum I felt like I would try asking for advice here. I just graduated from college earlier this month and I really want to get some work experience before I go to law school but I also want to retake the LSAT (I didn't do as well I as had wanted the first time around) in September so I can hopefully attend law school in Fall 2017. The problem is...I don't know if getting a job is wise and while I know juggling a full-time job/LSAT prep can be done, I just would like to hear from people who have made it work. Thank you!

emkay625

Gold

Re: Balancing a job and studying for the LSAT

Post by emkay625 » Thu May 19, 2016 2:33 pm

It can be done if you are diligent and don't mind losing your leisure time. I did while doing TFA/teaching high school math. My general day was school from 7-7, come home, eat dinner, study from 8-11. I also took a PT every Saturday morning. Just be diligent and establish a schedule.

lymenheimer

Gold

Post by lymenheimer » Thu May 19, 2016 2:36 pm

Get a desk job with minimum requirements and you can study while at work...like a position in state/local government or something.

HarvardHopeful93

New

Post by HarvardHopeful93 » Thu May 19, 2016 2:37 pm

You'll have to consider how much you personally can handle. Some people are machines and can work all day then go and grind out 4-5 good hours of LSAT prep. A lot depends on your living situation, personal life, responsibilities and obligations, pets, etc.